The End of Poetry

by thiszine

BY LACEY N. DUNHAM

With only two days left in National Poetry Month, it seems like the end of poetry until next year’s month-long celebration of the craft. After all, who reads poetry anyway? Dozens of writers and avid readers I know (including myself) neglect poetry 11 months of the year.

My new goal (added to a long list of rotating goals on a mental “to-do list”) is to read one poem each week. I realize I don’t treasure poetry and the folks who write it often enough unless it’s during the month of April. If Poetry were my child, she would weep in her tiny boarding school room about how her mother doesn’t love her, followed by years of expansive therapy in Manhattan.

Well, I’m not going to pay for her therapy, so I’m excusing myself as the cause (or, at least, a cause). Reading one poem a week doesn’t take much time and it may even cure a variety of ailments: brain death from watching too much TV; writer’s block; dust collecting on poetry collections in libraries and bookstores (or on my own bookshelves for that matter); dust-related allergies; guilt for not embracing poetry enough; general malaise; boredom; athlete’s foot (thought this last one is still unconfirmed by the FDA). Unlike commercial drugs, the side effects are few. So, beginning May 1, it’s 1 poem 1 week. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

