August Poetry Postcard

by thiszine

My camera has been returned to me and I’m excited to present the postcards I received at the end of last week! Read on for the fun!

 

 

“He who does not thank for little will not thank for much.” ~Estonian Proverb

10 Things I am Grateful for Today
1. It’s Friday.
2. It’s not raining…yet.
3. Next week I’ll be on vacation.
4. Bill’s garden.
5. Emily’s call.
6. Dinner with Emile, Maureen, and Nancy
7. Italian food.
8. Reading at lunch.
9. Music on.
10. Iced coffee.
–JM Simpson

 

 

 

Composition
Start too low
and you focus on feet
Tired, flat
Nowhere to go
then up
To the knees (what knees please?)
And on to the gut
A smackrel of mackrel
up to the nose
down to the tie
catch the eye
and
stay
awhile
–Diane Cammer

 

 

 

 

 

And here are some of the postcards I’ve sent recently. I used the Gravity Dancers postcard image for the first poem.

 

 

 

A Limerick
There once was a girl from Nantucket
Whose curly head was trapped in a bucket.
She sat down dark and cross
Because she was at a loss
and said to herself, well fuck it.

 

Her hands
travel my body, touch sweet tucked places
and trace my lips, tap my closed
eyes in code. Her hands leap
across skin and hair, flapping. Flying. Singing
over deserts, ravines, prairies, mountains,
and plains. Her hands nestle into mine,
soft and still, palm to palm.

Leave a Reply

