Poetry Postcard – First Postcard!

by thiszine

I received my first postcard in the mail today as part of the August 2009 Poetry Postcard! And then I re-read the instructions for participating and realized I was a bit late to send out my own postcard, which prompted the theme for my poem.

 

(No title)
lonely dirt road
postal code
junk county cemetery.

 

firecracker smoke wavering
over mind fields,
mingling annual reunion
strangling

 

storied explosion
we can make it if
we want to.
~Talia Reed

 

 

And here’s my poem with text below. The front of the postcard is the front cover art from a recently published book Gravity Dancers , edited by Richard Peabody and featuring fiction by women from the Greater Washington, DC area. They were free, so I’ll probably be using them more than once to send out my poetry postcards.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On Being Late
Procrastination is my blood.
Those letters floating like
alphabet soup, thick
with accusations on my silver spoon.
I try and spit them out
but find I swallow them whole.

 

Leave a Reply

